top of page
Search
  • ariannamamer

Encouraging Translanguaging to Develop Critical Science Literacy

This week I continued to work on the presentation files that I will use during the delivery of my workshop series in January 2023. Something which I found challenging to do was to determine what information I should keep on the presentation slides for all participants to see, and what information I should move to the speaker notes to share with the participants in that way. This is a skill (that I am still developing) which I think will be very useful as I move into my career as a classroom teacher.


I don’t want to divulge too many specifics of what I have included in my presentation files here, otherwise if potential participants find this blog they may simply read this (the spark notes version) instead of attending my workshops! Rather than bore you with a long list of details I’d like to discuss one thing I found in my research which I have not yet discussed on this blog. It is the subject of translanguaging (and yes, this topic did make it into my presentation files).


I highlight inquiry-based learning as a tool to develop critical literacy competencies throughout my research and presentation files, however, it is important to note that inquiry-based learning activities may pose an additional challenge to ELL students. Engagement with scientific activities always requires the use of science sense-making, communication, and language (Lee et al., 2013). If we encourage ELL students to use multiple languages to make meaning in the science classrooms they are more likely to engage with their learning (Lee et al., 2013; Ryu, 2020). This use of multiple languages to interact and make sense of content is the process referred to as translanguaging and not only allows, but also encourages ELL students to make use of their entire linguistic repertoires (García & Kleifgen, 2020; Ryu, 2020). In addition to helping students to better engage with inquiry-based learning activities that promote critical literacy, translanguaging also helps to reposition ELL students politically and socially outside of the confines of language (García & Kleifgen, 2020). This in itself will help ELL students to engage with Lewison et al.’s (2015) third and fourth dimensions of critical social practice, Focusing on the sociopolitical, and Taking action to promote social justice. Therefore, if we want to help all of our students, regardless of language barriers, to develop critical science literacy competencies, encouraging translanguaging in the classroom is an excellent start.


Alberta classrooms continue to welcome students from more and more diverse backgrounds. In light of this, I think it is incredibly important that as teachers we acknowledge the difficulty many students who do not have English as their first language will face and create a welcoming learning environment for all students. The encouragement of translanguaging in the classroom is just one way to do so and I look forward to exploring more possibilities as I continue my education.







References:


García, O., & Kleifgen, J. (2020). Translanguaging and literacies. Reading Research Quarterly, 55(4), 553-571.


Lee, O., Quinn, H., & Valdés, G. (2013). Science and language for English language learners in relation to next generation science standards and with implications for common core state standards for English language arts and mathematics. Educational Researcher, 42(4), 223-233.


Lewison, M., Leland, C., & Harste, J. C. (2015). Creating critical classrooms: Reading and writing with an edge. Routledge.

Ryu, M., & Daniel, S. M. (2020). How did we engage resettled Chin youth in critical STEM literacy practices? Asia-Pacific Science Education, 6, 319-345.

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page